Kayanja Fellowship Opportunity At Mbarara University

Mbarara University of Science and Technology (MUST) presents The Kayanja Fellowship.

The fellowship offers research and training opportunities for Master of Medicine (MMed), Master of Nursing Science (MNS), Master of Medical Laboratory Science (MMLS) and Master of Science (MSc) students enrolled at the University’s Faculty of Medicine.

The Kayanja Fellowship is named in honor of MUST’s founding Vice Chancellor Professor Frederick I. B Kayanja and is made possible by a generous endowment from Massachusetts General Hospital, USA.

It will be based on merit and targets talented Ugandan trainees at MUST. The Faculty of Medicine is pleased to announce the availability of scholarship opportunities under the Kayanja Fellowship for trainees tenable at MUST in the programs outlined above.

Continuing students in the above areas may also apply.

The Criteria For Application

Commonwealth Scholarship-Fellowship-Students

The application deadline is 29th May 2016. Applications are to be addressed and delivered to the office of the Dean, Faculty of Medicine, Mbarara University of Science and Technology.

All applicants must send a motivation letter, along with a CV, partial academic transcript, a recommendation lettre from the Head of Department and a copy of the admission letter.

Eligibility to the fellowship is restricted to Ugandans of a good standing, registered at MUST in the Faculty of Medicine and willing to work in Uganda upon completion of their studies.


About Prof. Frederick Kayanja

Born in 1938, Frederick Ian Bantubano Kayanja is a physician and academic. He obtained his MBChB from Makerere University, and a PhD from Wolfson College, Cambridge. He was a post-doctoral fellow at Harvard University Medical School.

He has lectured at the University of London, University of Nairobi and Makerere University. Prof. Kayanja was editor in chief of the African Journal of Ecology. He is a fellow of the African Academy of Science.

Outside Academia, he’s served as Chairman of both the Uganda National Council of Higher Education and the National Agricultural Research Organisation.

He’s currently the Chancellor of Gulu University.


– See more at: